Firefly Run Atlanta – My first 5K

Crossing the Finish Line at my First 5K

I took a break in my weekend hiking to take part in my first 5K, the Firefly Run Atlanta.   Now, I didn’t say I ran my first 5K… but I did complete it.  Maybe next year I’ll be able to run it.  It was a blast and I had some great friends that went along with me for the adventure.

If you’re not familiar with the Firefly Run it’s a nighttime 5K.  Everyone gets these blinking armbands and most people load up with glow sticks, glow necklaces, glow bracelets, glow sunglasses… you get the point.  I saw one couple that had LED lights on their hat, glasses, clothes and even blinking mouthpieces.  I’m not sure how many people usually participate in these races but there were thousands of people at this one, runners as far as you can see.   The race was through midtown Atlanta and the Start / Finish lines were in Piedmont Park.  The participants were awesome, the race was a lot of fun and even the spectators got into it.  People would cheer and honk their horns as we ran (errr, walked) by and one guy had the Rocky them blaring as the crowd came by.

My official time was 57:19.67 and my goal for this year was to finish under an hour – mission accomplished.  I’m already looking forward to see how much I can improve by next year’s race.  I’ve already framed and hung up my bib, this is a milestone for me and having it on the wall will remind me how far I’ve come in a relatively short time and keep me pushing on to lose weight and get in better shape.  I’ll definitely do the Firefly Run again and might even jump in a few other 5K’s.

Next weekend I’m back to hiking, weather permitting I’m heading up to the GA/NC state line to Brasstown Bald to view the fall foliage.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Firefly Run Atlanta – My first 5K

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the World of Running.. First Ever 5k | [ j. l. d. ] Photography Blog

Join the discussion.

