Smoothies, smoothies everywhere.

The Kitchen Sink Smoothie

Since originally writing this post I’ve had some issues wit the NutriBullet, see my update here.

I’ve always enjoyed smoothies.  I get them out sometimes and make them at home as well.  However up until recently my blender was a pain to make a smoothie in, it would always get “stuck” and I’d have to poke at it with a spatula to get everything blended together.  Grrr!  Now I know I could get a Vitamix or Blendtec and take care of that issue but I just struggle with paying $400.00+ for a blender.  Even if Blendtec does have some really cool uses for their blenders.

About a month ago one of my friends picked up a NutriBullet blender after seeing an infomercial on it.  I’m always skeptical of things sold on infomercials, I’ve got some real duds before.  But then my buddy started talking about how much he loved it.  Then another friend picked one up and gave the same review, he loves his NutriBullet.  I use Amazon a lot to check out items as the review there seem to be pretty accurate, I just look for a seller that has the most reviews on said item and see what others have to say.  Reviews were mostly positive with an overall 4 out of 5 stars on 91 reviews.  So I bit the bullet (LOL, I’m so funny!) and ordered one myself directly from the NutriBullet website.  A warning if you order one, when you checkout you have to go through about half a dozen screens where they try to upsell you stuff.

To make a long story short I got my NutriBullet in and I love it.  Rather than a blender they like to call it a Nutrition Extractor.  Oooh, fancy.  It blends smoothies very quickly and cleanup is much easier than with a full-size blender, plus you don’t have to dirty the blender and a glass since you blend in the glass with the NutriBullet.  It also blends things very smoothly – including nuts, seeds and tough leafy greens like kale.  I was always frustrated with some of the chunks when using kale in my smoothies.  I’ve also found a couple other uses for it.  You get a blending blade and a milling blade with the blender.  I’ve used the small cup and the blending blade to mix spices in with eggs for an omelette, the Bullet adds air to the eggs and they cook up very light and fluffy.  I’ve also used the small cup with the milling blade and poured in whole oats, spices and some fresh grated Parmesan and made my own Shake and Bake coating for some chicken.

NutriBullet Loaded Up and Ready for Action

It probably won’t seem like it but I didn’t intend this post to be a review for the NutriBullet but rather to talk about smoothies and smoothie recipes.  I’ve read up a LOT on ingredients for smoothies and I’d really like a recipe that’s an all-in-one smoothie.  I found a lot of recipes that said this smoothie is for weight loss and this one is for circulatory health and this one is for vision, etc.  Soooo… I solved that problem by making what I call my Kitchen Sink Smoothie, it’s got a bit of everything in it.  It tasted great, lots of the cocoa comes through, and is very thick in consistency as is.  You could leave out the avocado and add more liquid which would cut fat and calories and thin it down quite a bit.

I’d also like to hear any great recipes others have or if you own a NutriBullet what you think of it and any interesting uses you’ve found for it.

Kitchen Sink Smoothie

This lady’s pic was in the NutriBullet recipe book. I don’t know what she put in her smoothie but I need to get me some of that.

  • 1 cup Baby Spinach
  • 10 Blueberries
  • 3 medium Strawberries
  • 1/2 small Cucumber
  • 1 Tbsp PB2 powdered peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 1 Tbsp Goji Berries
  • 1 Tbsp dried Cranberries
  • 1/2 oz Crystallized Ginger
  • 1/2 medium Banana
  • 1/2 Mango
  • 1/2 medium Hass Avocado
  • 1/4 cup Fat-free Vanilla Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp Dark Cocoa Powder
  • 1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

Directions

Blend everything together and drink. ;-)

Basic Nutrition Info per serving (Recipe makes one LARGE serving, can definitely be eaten as a meal.)

  • Calories = 532
  • Carbs – 86 grams
  • Fat – 20 grams
  • Protein – 18 grams

You could drop the avocado and save 125 calories and 11 grams of fat if those things are a concern.  You could also substitute protein powder for the avocado and keep the calories close to the same but gain another 20’ish grams of protein while cutting about 10 grams of fat.

DISCLAIMER:  I am not a doctor.  Always consult your physician on dietary changes.  Some nutrients can interact with certain medications.  I’m just sharing this recipe because I like smoothies and thought this one was pretty good.

3 thoughts on “Smoothies, smoothies everywhere.

  1. Even though you said you are not a doctor, I took your medical advice and drank one of these shakes. It gave me rabies. I will be suing you for malpractice soon. You will be hearing from my lawyer. Good shake, tho.

    • Mr. Jenkins, I am sorry to hear aboat your rabies situation. Is it possible you contracted somewhere else? Perhaps a violent squirrel encounter? Have their been any stray dogs around your home lately? Either of those could cause this condition.

Join the discussion.

